News Flash Home
The original item was published from 4/5/2021 5:13:56 PM to 5/1/2021 12:00:02 AM.

News Flash

News and Announcements

Posted on: April 5, 2021

[ARCHIVED] 2021 Election Results

Election Results 2021pdf

Marnie Atkins was elected to the position of Wiyot Secretary, and Vanessa Rios, elected Council member.  Marnie Atkins is filling a seat vacated by Leona Wilkinson who is retiring after serving for more than 25 years as Secretary for the Wiyot Tribe.  Marnie Atkins previously served on Council in a different role for many years prior to leaving home to pursue her master’s degree in Oregon.   Vanessa Rios is new to serving on Council but is the granddaughter of Geraldine Rubira who served on the Wiyot Tribal Council for many years.  Vanessa Rios is replacing incumbent Kirsten Boyce, who served on Council for the last four years.  Congratulations to the Council members elect Marnie Atkins, and Vanessa Rios and hu’ (thank you) to Leona Wilkinson and Kirsten Boyce for their public service.  

The election results are as follows:

Wiyot Secretary- Marnie Atkins Elected for 2021-2025 Term

  • Marnie Atkins    46 votes
  • Jessica Cantrell  9 votes
  • Joshua Fowler   7 votes
  • Gail Green          22 votes

Council Member- Vanessa Rios Elected for 2021-2025 Term

  • Kirsten Boyce     26 votes
  • Betty Mead        22 votes
  • Vanessa Rios      36 votes

The Wiyot Tribal Council is comprised of 7 members elected in four-year terms.  Elections are held on the 1st Saturday every April, for the positions that are expiring.  Once elected, all successful Tribal Council candidates, including any successful incumbents, are required to complete a mandatory drug test at a licensed facility within forty-eight (48) hours of their election, and completed a background check prior to taking their oath and assuming office.  

The Wiyot Tribe thanks the League of Women Voters for their role in overseeing, counting votes, and certifying the Tribes elections to ensure a fair and impartial election.   

Facebook Twitter Email